For the Record!

The 38th Annual Oregon Offshore International Yacht Race took place May 8-11. Sponsored by the Corinthian Yacht Club of Portland, this race saw 29 boats sail the 193-nm trek from Astoria OR to Victoria BC. Winds and conditions resulted in both an “E-ticket” ride for all participants and a new course record – not an easy feat as it was last set 14 years ago by Rage (Steve Rander, Wylie 70), in 2000, with a finish-time of 19:46:41.

Congratulations to every skipper and crew member for an incredible showing!
First place honors go to:

  • First to Finish & New Course Record (14:56:20): Icon, Anacortes WA (Kevin Welch, Custom 65)
  • First Overall & Santa Cruz 27 Fleet: Blade Runner, Bellingham WA (Ward Naviaux, Santa Cruz 27)
  • IRC Fleet: Ocelot, Portland OR (Kevin Flanigan, Fox 44)
  • PHRF A Fleet: Time Bandit, West Sound WA (Robert Brunius, J-120)
  • PHRF B Fleet: Free Bowl of Soup, Portland OR (Eric Hopper/Doug Schenk/Matt Davis, J-105)
  • PHRF C Fleet: California Girl, Portland OR (Timm Lessley/Victoria Lessley, Cal 40)
  • PHRF D Fleet: Wy’East, Portland OR (Frank Colistro, Cascade 36)
  • Cruising Fleet: Souffle, Portland OR (Phil Lewis, Cal 34)

For a complete list of results, click here.
To view posts, video and photos from the race, go to the CYC Oregon Offshore website.
Information regarding the Corinthian Yacht Club of Portland may be found on their website.

Comments are closed.