

CYC Oregon Offshore May 11 - 14

INVITATION TO RACE

INVITATION: The Corinthian Yacht Club invites all eligible yachts to participate in the Oregon Offshore International Yacht Race.

DESCRIPTION: The Oregon Offshore International Yacht Race will challenge your sailing skills, navigation ability, tactical skills, and endurance. One hundred ninety-three miles long, this race from the mouth of the Columbia River up the Washington coast and down the Strait of Juan de Fuca will test the competitiveness of your boat and give you a chance to face the elements and experience the forces of nature, unbounded by land. This offshore race is now in its 41st year. The race originated and continues to be a great way to get your boat north for the Swiftsure Race, other Washington and Canadian sailing events, and for summer cruising.

DATES: May 11-14, 2017, pre-race Kick Off Party April 17, 2017.

ELIGIBILITY AND INSTRUCTIONS: Each racing yacht entering must have a current PHRF-NW certificate. Yachts must meet the Oregon Offshore Safety Equipment Requirements as outlined in the Notice of Race. Please check www.ussailing.org for qualifying Safety at Sea Seminars.

COURSE: The race begins at Buoy 2 outside the Columbia River Bar and finishes near the breakwater at the entrance to Victoria, BC Inner Harbour. See the 2017 Oregon Offshore Race Packet for specific details.

AWARDS: Awards will be presented at the annual post-race BBQ held at the Royal Victoria Yacht Club.

REGISTRATION: Visit <u>www.oregonoffshore.org</u> to obtain a copy of the 2017 Oregon Offshore Race Packet, which will be published in early January.

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Go to our website www.oregonoffshore.org, or contact the race committee by email at oregonoffshore@cycportland.org.

HISTORY OF THE OREGON OFFSHORE

The Oregon Offshore was first run in 1976 as a result of a challenge by Jack Gainer (Raindrop) and Richard Kipp (Vagabundo) to all Portland area sailors. They wanted an event to put the Oregon racing community into "offshore" racing rivaling Seattle, BC, and California. The first race started at buoy "2" off the Columbia River and went 100 miles to buoy "Y" at Newport, Oregon. The response was enthusiastic. Ten boats raced this first event with Jim Christensen winning on Destiny. Jack and Richard took the leadership responsibility and CYC became the sponsor. During the first few years courses varied in direction and distance. In 1980, the present course of 193 miles was adopted.

CYC Oregon Offshore May 11 - 14



OREGON OFFSHORE KICKOFF PARTY AT KELLS APRIL 17 - 1830 hrs

FIRST OVERALL CORRECTED:

1981 Commander Walker "Oriole" Owens 102

1982 Jack Becker "Pegasus" C&C 30

1983 Jack Becker "Pegasus" C&C 30

1984 Bob Smith Jr. "Scamp" Cascade 27

1985 Howard Shaw "Adios" Columbia 43

1986 Bob Hyslop "Manitou" Wiley 28

1987 Wiley Grabisch "Starfire" C&C 35

1988 Jack Becker "Pegasus" C&C 30

1989 Jack Armes "Spellbound" J -35

1990 Fred Hazzard "Challenger" Peterson 41

1991 Al Staley "Decadence" J-35

1992 Pat Quigley "Envoy" Santana 35

1993 Peter Schmidt "Olympian" Cal 40

1994 Steve Rander "Rage" Sunrise 70

1995 Bill Huseby "Sting" Soverel 33

1996 Bill and Becky Huseby "Sting" Soverel 33

1997 Steve Rander "Rage" Sunrise 70

1998 John Hanna "Geronimo" Wilderness 40 **1999 Gary and Karen Rossow** "Total Eclipse" Kalik 40

2000 Steve Rander "Rage" Sunrise 70

2001 Gary and Karen Rossow "Total Eclipse" Kalik 40

2002 Fred Hazzard "Phantom" J-35

2003 Bill and Becky Huseby "Sting" Soverel 33

2004 Bob Brunius "Time Bandit" J120

2005 Bob Brunius "Time Bandit" J120

2006 Brian Duchin "Voodoo Child" SC52

2007 Bob Brunius "Time Bandit" J120

2008 Bob Brunius "Time Bandit" J120

2009 Scott Campbell "Riva" J-46

2010 John Hanna "Orizaba" J/130

2011 Mark McCuddy "Bums Rush" Cascade 36

2012 Graeme Easarey "Kotuku" Farr 1220

2013 Tom Kelly "Anam Cara" J122

2014 Ward Naviaux "Blade Runner" Santa Cruz 27

2015 Steve Rander "Rage" Sunrise 70

2016 Ward Naviaux "Blade Runner" Santa Cruz 27