

# CYC/PYC Pacific NW Offshore May 15 - 18

#### INVITATION TO RACE

**INVITATION:** The Corinthian Yacht Club and Portland Yacht Club, along with our title sponsor Schooner Creek Boat Works, invites all eligible yachts to participate in the Pacific NW Offshore International Yacht Race.

**DESCRIPTION:** The Pacific NW Offshore will challenge your sailing skills, navigation ability, tactical skills, and endurance. One hundred ninety-three miles long, this race from the mouth of the Columbia River up the Washington coast and down the Strait of Juan de Fuca will test the competitiveness of your boat and give you a chance to face the elements and experience the forces of nature, unbounded by land. This offshore race is now in its 49th year. The race originated and continues to be a great way to get your boat north for the Swiftsure Race, other Washington and Canadian sailing events, and for summer cruising.

**DATES:** May 15-18, the pre-race Kick-Off Party is at PYC April 30 at 1830 hours. **ELIGIBILITY AND INSTRUCTIONS:** Each racing yacht entering (except cruising class) must have a current PHRF-NW certificate. Yachts must meet the Pacific NW Offshore Safety Equipment Requirements as outlined in the Notice of Race. Please check <a href="https://www.ussailing.org">www.ussailing.org</a> for qualifying Safety at Sea Seminars.

**COURSE:** The race begins at Buoy 2 outside the Columbia River Bar and finishes near the breakwater at the entrance to Victoria, BC Inner Harbour.

**AWARDS:** Awards will be presented at the annual post-race BBQ held at the Royal Victoria Yacht Club.

**REGISTRATION:** www.sailpdx.org under Racing/Event Notice Board & Registration FOR MORE INFORMATION: Go to our website at <a href="www.cycportland.org">www.cycportland.org</a>, or contact the Race Captain by email at <a href="race.captain@cycportland.org">race.captain@cycportland.org</a>. The Official Notice of Race is at <a href="https://sailpdx.org/notice-board">https://sailpdx.org/notice-board</a>.

PACIFIC NW OFFSHORE KICKOFF PARTY AT KELLS APRIL 30 - 1830 hrs

#### HISTORY OF THE PACIFIC NW OFFSHORE

The Pacific NW Offshore (Oregon Offshore) was first run in 1976 as a result of a challenge by Jack Gainer *Raindrop* and Richard Kipp *Vagabundo* to all Portland-area sailors. They wanted an event to put the Oregon racing community into "offshore" racing rivaling Seattle, BC, and California. The first race started at buoy "2" off the Columbia River and went 100 miles to buoy "Y" at Newport, Oregon. The response was enthusiastic. Jack and Richard took the leadership responsibility and CYC became the sponsor. During the first few years courses varied in direction and distance. In 1980, the present course of 193 miles was adopted.

## CYC/PYC Pacific NW Offshore May 15 - 18



### FIRST OVERALL CORRECTED:

1981 Commander Walker Oriole Owens 102

1982 Jack Becker Pegasus C&C 30

1983 Jack Becker Pegasus C&C 30

1984 Bob Smith Jr. Scamp Cascade 27

1985 Howard Shaw Adios Columbia 43

1986 Bob Hyslop Manitou Wiley 28

1987 Wiley Grabisch Starfire C&C 35

1988 Jack Becker Pegasus C&C 30

1989 Jack Armes Spellbound J/35

1990 Fred Hazzard Challenger Peterson 41

1991 Al Staley Decadence J/35

1992 Pat Quigley Envoy Santana 35

1993 Peter Schmidt Olympian Cal 40

**1994 Steve Rander** *Rage* Sunrise 70

1995 Bill Huseby Sting Soverel 33

1996 Bill and Becky Huseby Sting Soverel 33

**1997 Steve Rander** *Rage* Sunrise 70

**1998 John Hanna** *Geronimo* Wilderness 40

1999 Gary and Karen Rossow Total Eclipse Kalik 40

2000 Steve Rander Rage Sunrise 70

2001 Gary and Karen Rossow Total Eclipse Kalik 40

2002 Fred Hazzard Phantom J/35 2003 Bill and Becky Huseby Sting Soverel 33

2004 Bob Brunius Time Bandit J/120

2005 Bob Brunius
Time Bandit J/120
2006 Brian Duchin

Voodoo Child SC52
2007 Bob Brunius

Time Bandit J/120 2008 Bob Brunius

Time Bandit J/120 2009 Scott Campbell Riva J/46

2010 John Hanna Orizaba J/130

2011 Mark McCuddy Bums Rush Cascade 36

2012 Graeme Easarey Kotuku Farr 1220

2013 Tom Kelly Anam Cara J/122

2014 Ward Naviaux Blade Runner Santa Cruz 27

2015 Steve Rander Rage Sunrise 70

2016 Ward Naviaux Blade Runner Santa Cruz 27

2017 Schenk, Hopper & Davis Free Bowl of Soup J/105

2018 Joby Easton Raindrop Cascade 36

2019 Scott Campbell Riva J121

2021 Chris and Justin Wolfe Raku J111 (Double-hand)

**2022 Dave Raney** *Rage* Sunrise 70

2023 Hopper, Schenk & Davis Free Bowl of Soup Swan 42

2024 Bob Brunius Time Bandit J/120